Suzumiya Haruhi

DSC00629

I bought the ninth novel a couple of weeks back. By “a couple of weeks” I mean “before the shitstorm”. It was the only one missing from my little collection since they hadn’t translated it in Chinese when I bought the first eight.

It’s still unopened right now.

Then I realized I really didn’t give a crap about this franchise called “Suzumiya Haruhi” anymore.

How did something that seemed so great three years ago screw up this much?

I’ve narrowed it down to two reasons.

1. Kadokawa/KyoAni. What the crap are you guys doing? Three episodes would’ve been pretty genius, but eight, Jesus, I don’t even know how I survived the first six. I just skipped the seventh and went to the eighth. I can’t even say I’m enjoying the current Sighs arc right now because of this.

2. Tanigawa’s writer’s block. Holy crap, who do you think you are? Publication was suddenly stopped for  over two years, this almost feels like Sawajiri Erika – light novel author edition. I’d be really disappointed if the reason he stopped was really because he became disinterested in the series and that the recently-announced tenth novel is just a quick way to wrap it all up.

It’s really sad that it all had to become this way, especially since Haruhi was one of the first series I was willing to dig out money for. I’ll keep watching the series and read the online translations probably, but my love for Haruhi will probably never go back to the way it was in 2006.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

